A Visit to the Dermatologist

A Visit to the Dermatologist

I recently came to the decision that I was sick of suffering from painful acne all over my face and body. A visit to the Dermatologist was in order, and had been for a while. This came after years of avoidance simply because Doctors make me nervous. But honestly, if you have suffered from severe acne (at any age) you understand that it is serious and needs to be taken care of.

I have tried everything to get rid of my acne – diets, eliminating certain foods, increasing certain healthy foods, taking supplements, exercise, changing up my laundry detergent, using special body wash; I’m telling you, I have literally tried everything, and frustratingly nothing has ever worked.

All of this led to me finally making an appointment with a Dermatologist. Yesterday I had my initial visit, and I was so nervous – I expected them to tell me I was stuck with my acne and I would never be rid of it. I thought that they would try to tell me that because I suffered from depression that I didn’t qualify for any of the acne medications. A lot of negative thoughts were swirling around in my head.

I went in and met my new doctor (a very nice woman) who put me instantly at ease and as soon as she saw my acne she identified the cause – PCOS (Polycystic ovary syndrome). I’ve had this for years and no one has ever told me this is the cause of my adult acne – finally some answers! She put me on a regimen of Spironolactone for long term relief, and Doxycycline (an antibiotic) to help me get rid of the severely infected spots that I currently have. Also, I have a bottle of Clindamycin Phosphate topical solution, which is some kind of super strong acne medication. I used it last night and today, and already my acne on my face has almost completely died out. She told me that I should show great improvement in the next two months, and that I will continue to improve for the next three months and it should take care of the problem completely by then.

She also told me that I needed to use a body wash with antibacterial properties – she suggested Dial soap. Dial has a ingredient called Triclysan in it that kills the bacteria on your skin. I didn’t mind using it, but I decided that if I could find a more natural alternative I would prefer to use that (since I already have a good amount of medications that I have to take).

My sister (a Nutritionist who also knows a TON about natural beauty and self-care products) told me about an awesome soap:

IMG_2399

It has natural ingredients, and works really well as far as getting me clean goes. It also uses natural essential oils that are antibacterial, which means I don’t have to use any chemicals or harsh cleaners in my bath regimen. When I used it, it foamed up and felt nice on my skin. I felt really clean after and I smelled really good, like tea tree oil. The scent did fade quickly. I put lotion on after my shower and the tea tree faded away.

If you are like me, and suffer from severe acne, hold out hope. Try visiting a Dermatologist. If you can find the right one that fits with you and your needs and personality, it will be well worth the search. Look up reviews of the Derm online and see if they have a good reputation. Do your research on treatments that you are interested in. Talk to them about your concerns. Advocate for yourself. You can do it!

As always, I hope you enjoyed this post, and I am happy to share something very personal to me, because I know I’m not alone in my struggle.

Do you struggle with acne? What solutions have you found to treat it? Have you ever gone to a Derm? Let me know in the comments!

-Tia

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

